Who We Are

Weslaco Rehab Hospital is made up of a group of caring and qualified staff that are eager to make a difference in people’s lives and make a positive impact in our community’s health. We are led by a strong Board of Directors and an excellent medical team.

WRH Board of Directors

  • Pedro E. McDougal, M.D.
  • Jose Peña, M.D.
  • Padmini Bhadriraju, M.D.
  • Juan Gonzalez-Dickson, M.D.
  • Michael Sander, M.D.
  • Mike Gonzalez, Community Member

WRH Administration

Pedro E. McDougal, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine

Medical Director

Weslaco Rehab Hospital is proud to have Dr. Pedro E. McDougal as our Medical Director.  Dr. McDougal graduated from The Medial School of Pontifica Universidad Catolica Madre y Maestra in his hometown of Santiago, Dominican Republic. He completed his Internal Medicine residency at St. Barnabas Hospital in New York which is affiliated with Cornell University in 1995.  In 2005, Dr. McDougal completed his fellowship in Geriatric Medicine from the University of Texas Health Science Center (UTHSCSA) in San Antonio and is now Board Certified in Geriatrics, Hospice, and Palliative Medicine. His passion and commitment to serve the elderly  in our region has empowered him to be actively involved in our community. Dr. McDougal is a fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American Geriatric Society. He currently serves as Chief of the Geriatric Division of the UTHSCSA’s Regional Academic Health Center where he is an Associate Professor. In addition, he is currently a Clinical Instructor for the Physician Assistant Studies Program at the University of Texas-Pan American.

Maggie Barreiro, RN, MSN

Hospital Administrator

Maggie Barreiro has been the Weslaco Rehab Hospital Administrator since January of 2006. Maggie began her journey in nursing in 1972 as a LVN at Manuel Ramirez Memorial Hospital, a small community hospital in Roma, TX.  The small-hospital setting required her to engage with patients in all areas, one minute in the emergency room, another delivering babies, and the next caring for patients recovering from surgery.  It was an experience she greatly valued and definitely proved her love for the career she had chosen.  In 1975, she was hired at Starr County Hospital where she continued to grow in her profession. Maggie has learned many roles including Med-Surg, Hemodialysis, surgery, ICCU and also served as a Certified Diabetes Educator.

In 1977, Maggie decided to presume her Registered Nurse degree and obtained her bachelor degree from the University of Texas-Pan American followed by her Master of Science with a specialty in Clinical Adult Health and minor in Administration, which she obtained in 1996 from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. Through the years, Maggie has obtained a solid healthcare management experience as Chief Nurse Executive at several other local healthcare facilities that have allowed her to be successful in her role as Hospital Administrator.

Currently, aside from her duties as a Hospital Administrator, Maggie is an active member of the Nursing Advisory Board for both the University of Texas-Pan American and South Texas College.  In her community, she is a member of the St. Joseph the Worker Catholic Church in McAllen and thanks the Lord each day for her successful nursing career

Rita Mata-Guerrero, RN, CRRN

Director of Nursing

Our nursing team is led by Rita Mata-Guerrero, a South Texas native.  In 1998 she received her nursing degree from the University of Texas at Brownsville. Since then, her passion for healthcare has brought her to rise through challenges in different nursing positions such as staff nurse, charge nurse and clinical nurse manager in the area of women’s health.  She joined Weslaco Rehab Hospital in 2007  where she was introduced to rehabilitation nursing. Due to her motivation and evident leadership skills, Rita quickly received her National Certification in Rehabilitation Nursing (CRRN)  in 2009.

Heather Fryar, PT

Therapy Director

Heather graduated from Texas Tech Health Science Center with a Masters in Physical Therapy. She has been serving the Rio Grande Valley as a Physical Therapist since 2006 and has been working at Weslaco Rehab Hospital since 2010. She recently became the Therapy Director in 2013. Her experience and knowledge has been extremely beneficial to both our patients and our staff as she is certified in Neuro-Ifrah and Bio-Ness for treatment of the hemiparesis after a CVA.

*Weslaco Rehab Hospital is a free-standing inpatient rehabilitation facility that is part-owned by a group of physician investors:

Alejandro Fuentes, MD                                                      Julio Savinon, MD
Charity Abreu-Lawrence, MD                                         Adolfo Kaplan, MD
Claudia Pierson, MD                                                         Kotthegal P. Eshwar, MD
Daisy Arce, MD                                                                  Manuel Mercado, MD
Donna Mery, MD                                                              Mario Gomez, MD
Elizabeth Juarez, MD                                                      Maximiliano, Hernandez, MD
Femi Layiwola, MD                                                         Melecia Fuentes, MD
Subram G. Krishnan, MD                                              Michael Sander, MD
Guillermo Cortinas, MD                                                 Padmini Bhadriraju, MD
Habib Ghaddar, MD                                                       Pedro E. McDougal, MD
Jaime Ruiz Perez, MD                                                     Pedro J. Penalo, MD
Javier Cortinas, MD                                                        Rama Chandra, MD
Jose Bejarano, MD                                                          Raul Marquez, MD
Jose Cobos, MD                                                                Ricardo Abreu, MD
Jose Dones, MD                                                               Rodolfo  Guerrero, MD
Jose E. Lares, MD                                                           Roger Heredia, MD
Jose Lopez, MD                                                                Salil Mangi, MD
Jose Luis Villalobos, MD                                               Sandra Esquivel, MD
Jose Pena, MD                                                                 Saroja Viswamitra, MD
Jose T. Sandoval, MD                                                    William Restrepo, MD
Juan Gonzalez-Dickson, MD